Posted by: mensab | January 22, 2008

Life of a Genius (Bobby Fischer, 1943-2008)

Bobby Fischer    The man is remembered for living his life on his own way and world.

I ought to write something about Fisher and his impact in my life. As a chess enthusiast, it is clear why I like the man. He is simply genius in the game of chess. In countless times, I played his brilliant games with myself. Chess players like to beat themselves, you know. But I usually win against myself in chess. What I have learned from him extends beyond the 64-square board and blurs my view of the world as black and white.

He teaches me to love books. As a young boy, Fisher would devour chess books. He would seclude himself and devote time reading and mastering chess books. There is no substitute for learning chess but read. There is no substiture for learning life but live.

He guides me to have clarity among options. Chess is about finding the best move. It offers thousands of possible moves but there can only be one best move. To find it continuously in the shortest time assures oneself a sure winner. Certainly, Fisher would speak his mind on anything passionately. Clearly, he is a man of his own choosing.

He shows me eccentricity with conviction. There are many chess moves that are hard to fathom their logic. They may appear as harmless or dubious but the underlying intent is powerful. Fisher would renounce his US citizenship and often criticize his own country.

He is remembered for his life, and not for his death.

Responses

  1. […] mensab wrote an interesting post today on Life of a Genius (Bobby Fischer, 1943-2008)Here’s a quick excerptI ought to write something about Fisher and his impact in my life. As a chess enthusiast, it is clear why I like the man. He is simply genius in the game of chess. In countless times, I played his brilliant […] […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

